JS Bach: Orchestral Suites

SKU: AAM003 Category:

Academy of Ancient Music

Year: 2014

Richard Egarr director & harpsichord

Bach’s Orchestral Suites are a series of grand and graceful dances, paying homage to the French baroque style as championed by the ballet-obsessed King Louis XIV. Written during Bach’s years in Leipzig, where he had a wider range of instruments at his disposal than ever before, the Suites revel in new sonorous possibilities and employ varied combinations of wind, brass, stringed instruments and timpani.

JS BACH Orchestral Suite No.1 in C major BWV1066 (c.1725)
JS BACH Orchestral Suite No.2 in B minor BWV1067 (c.1738-9)
JS BACH Orchestral Suite No.3 in D major BWV1068 (1731)
JS BACH Orchestral Suite No.4 in D major BWV1069 (c.1725)